top of page

5 Unforgettable Experiences in Iceland


Iceland is the ultimate road trip adventure. My 9-day trip travelling Iceland’s Ring Road, which wraps around the entire country, can only be described as an awe-inspiring journey. Rather than immersing myself in local culture and food as one usually does during travels, I found myself captivated by the vast landscape. At each stop along my journey, I experienced new breathtaking terrain, from eerie lava fields and black sand beaches to crystal clear glaciers and quaint country-side farms. I believe that to truly experience Iceland, you have to drive and camp along the way. Occasionally put the road map aside and let nature guide your journey. Pulling off onto a side road or taking an unexpected detour were some of my most memorable moments of Iceland. I’m already craving to go back and experience more of Iceland’s unsurpassed natural beauty. Here are five unique experiences you’re sure to have on an Icelandic adventure.

1) Chasing Waterfalls

Both powerful and majestic, Iceland’s waterfalls left me staring in wonder. Each region of the country has a number of heavily frequented falls, but driving along the Ring Road, we ran into countless others. My favorite waterfall was Dettifoss, which is located in the isolated West Fjords. The magnitude of the waterfall, which has the largest volume of flowing water of any European waterfall, simply cannot be captured in a photograph. It was nearly 3am when I arrived so no one else was around. There is light for nearly 23 hours each day, so the middle of the night can be the best time to experience Iceland's sites. I set up my sleeping bag and took in the view.

2) Glaciers on the Black Sand Beach

I’m a beach girl no matter where I go, and Iceland was no exception. After driving almost all night to cover more ground, we stopped at Glacier Lagoon just as morning broke. While the frigid temperatures prevented me from swimming, the black sandy shoreline coupled with the reflective ice along the beach is a beach experience like no other. Shards of ice reflected the morning light as the stars were still visible above the horizon. Talk about a morning walk on the beach.

3) Off-Roading

I’d highly recommend renting a Land Rover Defender for its off-roading capabilities (I rented from Ice Rovers). Not only is it the most iconic vehicle for Iceland due to its bare-bones aesthetic, but the functionality will ensure you can drive Iceland's unpaved roads safely. The river crossings on the way to the Volcano Huts in Porsmork were scary but thrilling. At one point, water started coming over the hood of the car! We had to use our hitch to pull out one family's car that was stuck in the river.

4) Relaxing in a Geothermal Hot Pool

What’s a vacation without some rejuvenation? After a few days of long hikes, driving, exploring and nights spent camping, I started to feel worn out and sore. The hot pools were the perfect relaxation. Not only did it feel like I was at a natural spa, but it’s a great place to chat with other travellers. Don’t be shy about going into the pool with strangers!

5) Stopping to Visit with Icelandic Horses

Not to be mistaken for ponies, the Icelandic horses reminded me of mini Clydesdales. I wanted to stop every time we drove past a grassy area with them. I stayed one night at an Airbnb where the owner had a pasture of horses that we were free to pet. They’re so sweet and friendly. Next time, I’m definitely putting a horseback ride onto my itinerary.

 

What to Wear:

Layers and waterproof clothing are essential for the rainy and cold weather in Iceland. However, a good pair of hiking shoes that can double as streetwear was the key item for putting together outfits for my trip. These Merrell waterproof boots were my go-to shoe! They're extremely comfortable and the red laces give it a slight edge to traditional hiking boots. I wore mine hiking but also with jeans for a day walking around in Reykjavik.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page