top of page

Off the Beaten Path in Madrid, Spain


Madrid is celebrated for its highly frequented attractions such as Retiro Park and the Prado Museum, but the grand metropolis has much more to offer to visitors looking for an alternative experience. Expand your visit beyond the top tourist destinations to avoid the crowds and encounter a lesser seen version of Madrid’s flavorful cuisine, charming parks, rich history, and stunning views. Last summer, I spent two months in Madrid where I practiced my Spanish and spent my days exploring the city to discover its hidden treasures and local charm away from the standard tourist itinerary.

Churros con Chocolate

Any visitor to Madrid must try churros con chocolate, a traditional breakfast dish comprised of a hot fried pastry dipped into a creamy, dark hot chocolate. Tourists flock to San-Gines Chocolateria, but in my opinion, Chocolat Madrid is the superior option. It’s a homey and quiet establishment serving up fresh batches of the popular treat. One order costs €3.50 (or $3.92 at $1.12 to the euro) and is enough to feed two people. The chocolate is rich, creamy, and everything you would want from a breakfast (or dessert). Another plus about this location is that it’s a great place to interact with local college students and young people.

Museums

Madrid is home to some of the world’s learning art museums. I spent my countless afternoons at the Prado and Thyssen-Bornemisza, taking in the endless galleries of magnificent artwork. While these are definitely must-see museums in Madrid, I would highly suggest adding the Sorolla Museum to your itinerary. The quaint museum is a tribute the the impressionist painter Joaquin Sorolla and his former studio-mansion was converted into a museum to house his paintings. Unlike a typical art museum, here you’ll also get to see his unfinished artworks still sitting on easels in his studio. Unfortunately, I did not take any photos of the museum, but surprisingly it is the museum I remember most vividly from my travels. I enjoyed the small size of the museum because I could fully appreciate each painting without getting overwhelmed, which is what typically happens to me at huge museums like the Prado where it is so easy to get lost amid thousand of paintings and endless winding corridors.

Mercados

Located in Madrid’s lively Chueca neighborhood, El Mercado de San Anton is often overshadowed by the world-famous El Mercado de San Miguel. However, El Mercado de San Anton hosts three stories comprised of groceries, tapas (appetizers or snacks in Spanish cuisine), and restaurants. Browse the entire market before deciding what to eat. Not only will you find it to be less crowded, but there are better prices as the customers are mostly locals rather than tourists. I enjoyed going here in the late afternoon with friends for some tapas and a glass of wine.

Parks

Madrid hosts a number of large green spaces, but Buen Retiro Park (called El Retiro by locals) is by far the most popular. It’s the equivalent of New York’s Central Park or London’s Hyde Park. Tourists usually flock to the Monument to King Alfonso XII which stands upon a lake where people can row boats. The area is so crowded you often can’t move without bumping into someone. I spent most mornings walking through the park and stumbled upon the rose garden or “rosalenda.” With roses in every color, fountains, and small statues, the garden is a relaxing place to take a short stroll and a great place to take photos.

Wine Bars

Rather than watching the sunset from your hotel terrace, take in the breathtaking view from the terrace of Círculo de Bellas Artes, a non-profit cultural organization and museum. Watching the sunset from this rooftop is one of my favorite memories of Madrid. Entrance to the rooftop is €4 and the wine bar and lounge chairs are perfect for a relaxing evening.

 

What to Wear:

Living in New York, all black outfits are one of my go-to looks. During my first week there, I wore my typical black sundress and black shoes and my Spanish friend asked me if I was going to a funeral. “That is the only reason anyone in Spain wears black,” she explained. When travelling in Spain, embrace their love for color and leave your black clothing at home. For inspiration, check out Desigual, a Spanish brand known for trendy designs, intense prints, and insane use of color.

When travelling around Madrid, pick-pocketing is a major concern, so carrying the right type of bag is essential. I purchased the Longchamp Le Pliage Backpack while in Madrid. It’s the perfect size to carry a wallet, sunglasses, water bottle, phone charger, snacks, and other small items without being overly bulky. The snap and zip closure makes it more secure, and you could always swing both straps onto one shoulder and tuck the bag under your arm. I’ve found this to be a great travel purse because I can fold it and tuck it into a larger backpack when necessary.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page