top of page

A Quaint Weekend in Hallstatt

Straight out of a storybook, Hallstatt is a village where pastel-colored houses are nestled into the mountainside and snow-capped peaks are reflected into a glistening lake. Spend a weekend in this small Austrian village and you'll have entered what is perhaps the closest thing to a fairytale. Tucked between the Hallstätter See Lake and the Dachstein Mountains, Austria’s oldest town is a photographer’s dream. I learned of this village only a few days before visiting, but it's one of my most memorable European vacations. Unlike flashy cities like Paris and London, the sleepy village vibe gave me the sense of calm that a vacation is supposed to bring. The town of barely 800 residents is easily accessible from Salzburg and attracts tourists from all over the globe.

I arrived at Hallstatt by car following a short stay in Salzburg. It was already late afternoon, so I took a stroll through the cobblestone streets. To reach the main part of town where the shops and restaurants are located, I descended a series of stairways which proved to be incredible vantage points. The architecture and aesthetic of the town is both classic and whimsical. Vines hang from wooden balconies and window shutters remain propped open. The spire from the Church of Christ coupled with the charming buildings in the market square are beautiful during golden hour.

I made my way to the patio of an empty restaurant and took in Hallstätter See, the lake that the town was built around. Every so often a boat arrived to shuttle visitors to and from the town, but otherwise the lake was completely serene. A swan swam by, causing ripples in the otherwise calm water.

Hallstatt offers hotel and bed and breakfast accommodations, but I opted to stay in an Airbnb located on the outskirts of the village. The little apartment was the perfect size for my group and had a small kitchen and balcony. The interior looked like something out of a storybook, adding to the feeling that I had entered another world. In the morning, I sat on the balcony with a cup of coffee and took in the mountain view in the crisp morning air.

Dachstein Krippenstein Mountain is home to some of the longest ski runs in the world. I’ve only been skiing once, so I decided to take the gondola ride up to the top of the mountain and rent snowshoes. The gondola ride takes you far up over 2,000 feet into the mountain and the massive landscape is incredible from above. Once at the top, you can hike up to different vantage points and take in the untouched snow-covered mountain. It was incredibly quiet at the top of the mountain with no sound other than the occasional gust of wind. The air was cold but I think it was the cleanest air I'd ever breathed.

In the village, there is a narrow road on the side of the mountain that overlooks the water. I think this road provides the best view of Hallstatt because you can see the village, the lake, and the mountains all at once. Sometimes when traveling for a long period, every place can start to feel the same or blur together. Hallstatt will not. Completely unique and unforgettably charming, Hallstatt is a small town that you will want to revisit.

The key to experiencing Hallstatt is to appreciate the scenery. Take time to meander through the town. Don’t go with a packed itinerary. Instead, savor the peacefulness of Hallstatt.

What to Wear:

When traveling in colder or fluctuating temperatures I always pack a few pairs of wool socks and my favorite beanies. The thickness of wool socks ensures warmth and helps prevent blisters from all the walking I do while traveling. Snowshoeing was an unexpected adventure so I was thankful to have them on hand. My favorite are the Smartwool socks. Beanies are a functional accessory for cold weather and they can add a pop of color to your outfit. I love beanies with pom-poms at the top for a quirky touch.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page