top of page

Stairway to Heaven


On my latest trip to Hawaii, I checked off one of the ultimate bucket list adventures the island has to offer. The infamous Stairway to Heaven hike draws thousands of adventure-enthusiasts who ascend the dangerously steep stairs for the incredible island view from up in the clouds. Also known as the Haiku Stairs, the hiking trail spans Oahu’s Ko’olau Mountain Range and offers unparalleled views of Kaneohe Bay.

At the top of the stairs is a massive radio satellite, which is the reason why the stairs were originally commissioned in the 1940s. The radio served the US Navy and Coast Guard operations in Hawaii. In 1987, the stairs were closed and the trail fell into disrepair.

Despite an expensive repair project in the early 2000s, the Haiku Stairs were publicly closed following multiple disputes regarding land use rights. Hiking the staircase is technically trespassing and violators face potential fines and citations. However, the hike remains a bucket-list favorite.

To reach the summit by sunrise, I began the hike at 3am. Just reaching the trailhead is an accomplishment as it is quite hidden in the dense jungle-like terrain. The stairway is barely wide enough for one person and in the morning fog, the rails were wet and slippery. I grasped onto the hand trails for dear life as I ascended part of the trail that would be better described as a ladder on the side of a cliff than a stairway. Less than 30 minutes into the hike, I was enclosed in thick fog. I could barely see a few feet in front of me. Around two hours into the hike the fog started to subside and as the morning sun started to peek out, I couldn't believe the view. I was thousands of feet above the highway.

After climbing 3,922 steps to the top, my legs were shaking with exhaustion but I felt such a sense of accomplishment for having completed the treacherous hike. There is a concrete shelter at the top where the satellite is, so I climbed up onto the roof and took in the impressive view. I’ve found few experiences that compare to the feeling of appreciating stunning scenery with the adrenaline of having just completed an intense hike.

 

What to Wear:

The temperature will fluctuate dramatically during the duration of the hike. It can be extremely humid and muggy during the hike, but may be windy and cold at the summit. Wearing packable, lightweight layers is key. I recommend this Nike Half-Zip sweatshirt because it can easily pack into your backpack if you feel hot, but can also provide warmth or sun protection if needed.

While this isn’t necessarily a piece of clothing, wear a Gopro for this hike! You’ll capture insane footage of the staircase and the scenery is perfect for a time-lapse of your journey up and down the stairway.

 

A Note of Caution:

While this hike is highly popularized, it is important to remember that hiking the Haiku Stairs is technically trespassing. I accessed the trail legally through another trail last year that is equally dangerous and involved a 12 mile ridge hike requiring ropes. I do not recommend attempting this hike unless you are familiar with the area and an experienced hiker.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page