top of page

My Helicopter Ride Over Manhattan


An open-door helicopter ride over Manhattan was by far my coolest experience in New York this year. I took a doors-off, feet-dangling ride with NYONAir, a New Jersey based helicopter tour company. For photographers, the doors-off helicopter is the best way to get impeccable photos, and for adrenaline junkies, dangling your feet out the side over Manhattan’s highrises is a thrill.

As someone deathly afraid of heights, an open-door helicopter ride was something I had to be convinced to do. In fact, when the pilot told me I would be in the "adventure seat" (a seat where the passenger gets to take off his or her seat belt and dangle over the edge during flight while secured with a harness), my hands literally started sweating and I was tempted to request a seat-change. Never have I regretted an adventure, and this open-door ride was no exception.

My flight was a 15-minute ride over the Financial District of Manhattan, with spectacular views of Freedom Tower and the Brooklyn Bridge. Up in the air, my fear of heights was forgotten. The view of the city was breathtaking. As we rose, the people, cars, and streets started to disappear until only the landscape of buildings and bridges were all that was visible of the concrete jungle.

The pilot asks passengers if there are specific locations they want to photograph more during the flight. My group wasn’t as interested in the Statue of Liberty, so we spent the majority of the flight hovering near Freedom Tower and near the Brooklyn Bridge. The helicopter also took a minute over the water at the bottom of Manhattan so all passengers could get the iconic feet dangle photo over the base of Manhattan (pictured above).

Most New Yorkers wouldn't be caught dead going up the Empire State building or standing in long lines to see the Statue of Liberty. However, this resistance toward "touristy" activities can prevent us from seeing our own city in a way that allows us to appreciate the beauty. An open-door helicopter ride over Manhattan is a not-so-touristy way to experience and see the city we call home. Long commutes and noisy subways can leave me less than enthralled by the city some nights, but looking out over the majestic skyscrapers and impressive bridges from above made me fall in love with New York all over again.

And for tourists, it's an experience you certainly will not regret.

What to Wear:

Shoes are the main attraction here. For that iconic foot dangle photo, wear shoes that stand out. Interesting sneakers with unusual detailing are a great choice. I wore my embroidered white sneakers. However, any clean closed-toe shoe such as Converse or Vans will look great. In terms of clothing, you’ll be wearing a harness, so skirts and dresses are not ideal. Jeans are the best option to avoid showing off your undergarments or getting a wedgie.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page