top of page

Day Trip to Muir Woods

Muir Woods is home to magnificent coastal redwoods that will leave you in awe of nature. With the crunch of dead leaves under your feet and coastal redwoods everywhere in sight, it's easy to feel lost in nature while taking a walk through the expansive nature walks and hiking trails that Muir Woods offers. The trees can grow up to 380 feet and some are as old as 1,000 years old. Even though I'd seen photos of the park, I couldn't believe the size of these massive trees. The national monument located just outside San Francisco isn't as famous as parks like Yosemite and Joshua Tree, but is worth a trip if you're spending some time in the Bay Area.

I visited Muir Woods this summer during a short trip to San Francisco. I only had a few hours to spend in the park, but would love to visit again and take on some of the longer hikes. I explored a few walking trails that took me through winding paths of coastal redwoods and over charming creeks. While some paths were very crowded with visitors, it was easy to go onto a side trail for a more private exploration. The park has have 560 acres of redwood forest. Visitors can explore the paved main trails which are accessible to everyone and park rangers offer period tours and information sessions. For people interested in hiking, there are longer intermediate and difficult trails.

Muir Woods is a great place to visit year-round. Unlike many national parks, it is open 365 days a year and it costs $10 per person to enter the park. The park's popularity has grown dramatically in the past decade, and starting in 2018, visitors will be required to make a reservation (more information here).

What to Wear:

I was only visiting the park for some short nature walks, so I did not dress for serious hiking. After the park, I planned to head to a lunch with my family, so I wanted an outfit that could work for both occasions. I wore my Seven for All Mankind distressed denim. I couldn't find a link to these exact jeans, but here is a similar option. I love the distressing around the ankles and that medium wash makes is suitable for day or night. I paired the jeans with an embroidered blouse from Nordstrom Rack (unfortunately sold out) and my all time favorite leather jacket from Express. You can't go wrong with this jacket. I own it in three colors and have been wearing them since high school. They're still available, and never seem to go out of style.

For more serious hiking, wear athletic clothing, but I saw most visitors wearing jeans and similar street wear options. Wear something you're comfortable walking in and that will keep you warm under the cool temperatures under the trees.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page